Curve Balls!

My 2nd blog post and I’m in rant mode already!  Not a great sign but does the soul good to get it off one’s chest!

My back problem didn’t get much better with the 1st lot of steroid injections so last week the consultant brought me back in for another session of shots – fingers crossed this lot work and I get my life back!    If not, he’s proposing trying a fairly new procedure called “Disc FX” – but for now I’m putting that to the back of my mind.  Sorry, I can’t seem to type a sentence without the word ‘back’ in it!

 

Being under par also means I haven’t been watching the state of the bank account and I won’t bore you with the details but suffice to say I’ve had a few shocks and they don’t include the off my head on meds online shopping excursions either.

My banger is rightly f-ed and good for nothing more than scrap.  My local mechanic omitted to warn me that she would fail her NCT and fail miserable and proceeded to charge me 600 yo yos to fix her up.  That just seems WRONG!

Jesus just typing this makes me want to pour a stiff one!

Fear of Missing Out

Being in pain and off your game (that rhymes!) means that I haven’t been on form for doing anything and accepted being holed up at home in my stride.  That was until I watched Coldplay in Croker on Snap and Insta stories – which gave me a serious dose of FOMO.  It looked like the gig of the year and would love to have been there.  Maybe next time!

I may be too old for Longitude but that didn’t stop me enjoying the bassy sounds wafting on the breeze into my back garden this weekend.

Happy thoughts!

My recovery process involves physio sessions, exercising and walks and the other day i felt up to taking a walk and ventured to Bullock Harbour in Dalkey.  I haven’t been there in years and was blown away by the sheer beauty and lovely vibrancy of the harbour and surrounding areas.

Bullock Harbour
Bullock Harbour, Dalkey, Dublin, Ireland.

Protein Balls

Inspired by Chloe Harris – snap handle: Foodiecafe – I gave her Protein Ball recipe a try.   Ingredients: 1 cup of dates, 1/2 cup of pulsed cashew nuts, pinch of salt, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/3 cup dried cranberries, cacao power, desiccated coconut.  Pulse all ingredients apart from the coconut together and roll into balls. Refrigerate for a couple of hours and then roll in the desiccated coconut or you could also try melted chocolate – YUM!  It’s therapeutically messy non-bake.

Protein Balls
Healthy balls of energy

Onward and upwards!

"The pessimist complains about the wind
The optimist expects the change
The realist adjusts the sails"
William A Ward

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

